Dudi-qlWkAEQ1rs.jpg
spearlaugh.jpg
Screen Shot 2019-02-21 at 3.23.08 PM.png
ban the box teach in.jpg
project solidarity.jpg
tracing the violence.png
Dudi-qlWkAEQ1rs.jpg

SPEAR Projects


SCROLL DOWN

SPEAR Projects


“I am no longer accepting the things I cannot change. I am changing the things I cannot accept.”
— Angela Davis

SPEAR members educate, advocate, and agitate against our carceral system through legislative campaigns, campus activism, direct service, and community education. Our projects address many of the consequences of the carceral state, including the disenfranchisement of formerly incarcerated people, juvenile justice, prison conditions and oversight, pervasive post-incarceration barriers to re-entry, solitary confinement, and more. SPEAR meets every Monday from 8 to 9 p.m. in Campus Club, where you can start working on any of these projects!

spearlaugh.jpg

Re-Entry Working Group


Re-Entry Working Group


The re-entry working group is partnering with formerly incarcerated activists and local organizations to better understand the persistent challenges of re-entry post-incarceration and create sustainable resources grounded in the needs articulated by the community.

Contact: Nathan Poland (npoland@princeton.edu) and Naomi Shifrin (nshifrin@princeton.edu)

Screen Shot 2019-02-21 at 3.23.08 PM.png

Alternatives to youth incarceration


Alternatives to youth incarceration


In collaboration with community partners in Newark and Trenton, this team seeks to engage local youth in education about the carceral state and the imagination of alternatives to prisons, with the goal of eventually developing a legislative proposal to divert funds appropriated for the construction of new youth detention facilities towards generative projects that invest in the communities affected by mass incarceration and in line with community needs. 

Those interested in joining the Alternatives to Youth Incarceration project should contact Leila Ullmann (ullmann@princeton.edu) and Erica Dugue (edugue@princeton.edu) for more information.

 

ban the box teach in.jpg

Formerly Incarcerated Student Access Program (FISAP)


Formerly Incarcerated Student Access Program (FISAP)


FISAP works with the University administration and the Prison Teaching Initiative to produce a college application workshop series within New Jersey Department of Corrections facilities to guide incarcerated students through the process of applying to New Jersey colleges and universities.

Contact: Nathan Poland (npoland@princeton.edu)  

D.O.V.E.S.


D.O.V.E.S.


D.O.V.E.S. is a direct outreach program that hosts enrichment activities on campus with young women from the D.O.V.E.S. community-based alternative incarceration facility.

Contact: Beatrice Ferguson (bmf3@princeton.edu) and Emma Harlan  (eharlan@princeton.edu)

project solidarity.jpg

Project Solidarity


Project Solidarity


P.S. is an ongoing correspondence program with people that have been incarcerated in solitary. P.S. hopes to produce a zine in Spring 2019 featuring original artwork and writing from incarcerated participants.

Contact: Katharine Matthias (kfm2@princeton.edu) and Elliot Galvis (egalvis@princeton.edu)

tracing the violence.png

Annual Conference


Annual Conference


SPEAR hosts an annual conference on campus for anti-carceral academics, organizers and students. The 2019 conference will take place April 12th-13th and center around the theme of "Tracing the Violence," which addresses how those convicted of “violent” offenses are excluded from the justice movement.

2019 conference co-chairs: Kiki Gilbert (kiarag@princeton.edu), Micah Herskind (micahh@princeton.edu), Jackson Vail (jvail@princeton.edu), and Frelicia Tucker (ftucker@princeton.edu)